In The Moment

Johnny O'Neal

Smoke Sessions

Johnny O’Neal cements his long-promised star status with his most vivid recording to date, In the Moment. Along with his working trio—bassist Ben Rubens and drummer Itay Morchi—O’Neal features two very special guests who dropped by the studio for this session—trumpet great Roy Hargrove and tenor-man Grant Stewart. From blues to straight-ahead; post-bop to pop tunes and ballads, In the Moment fully captures the elegant pianism and emotionally gripping voice that have made Johnny such a beloved fixture on the NYC jazz scene.

1.    Sweet Monk
2.    Guilty
3.    Churchill Grounds
4.    Saving All My Love for You
5.    After the Love is Gone
6.    She Doesn’t Know (I Love Her)
7.    Slow Hot Wind
8.    Please Be Kind
9.    The Folks Who Live on the Hill
10.  CGLS
11.  People Make the World Go Round
12.  Sunday in New York
13.  Trav’lin’ Light
14.  Just a Dream (On My Mind)
15.  Being in Love with You
16.  Tropical Breeze

“Critics and peers acknowledge Mr. O’Neal as perhaps the leading exponent of mid-20th-century jazz piano technique.”
–Giovanni Russonello, The New York Times

“He’s re-establishing himself in New York as an incredible old-school performer.
–Patrick Jarenwattananon, NPR’s Jazz Night in America

“He remains one of jazz’s best-kept secrets…”
–Aidan Levy, NPR’s JazzTimes

“Art Tatum was the best pianist to touch the keys. O’Neal is a close second bar none. His unique genius style swings from the down-right home blues to gospel, stride, crazy improvisational straight-ahead jazz and his ballads will pull your heart strings to capacity.”
–Ron Scott, Open Sky Jazz

For more info visit

Connect with us on Facebook!

Image Image

On Sale Now
December 2017
Wynton Marsalis
Look Inside
Print | Digital | iPad