Yaniv Taubenhouse

Perpetuation: Moments In Trio, Vol. 2
(Fresh Sound)

If repertoire can tell us something about where a musician’s head is, pianist Yaniv Taubenhouse’s latest release lets listeners know that he’s in touch with the past. Selections like Frederick Loewe’s “The Street Where You Live” signal that the bandleader’s work easily will be metabolized by people in their golden years. And yet, the trio’s relative youth might help it serve as a gateway for a younger generation.

The pianist’s grandfather was indeed his guide through the material here, and the set, which also includes Cole Porter’s “Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye” and Thelonious Monk’s “Introspection,” is dedicated to his father. But Taubenhouse’s light touch is well-suited to Monk’s breeziest writing; the number also gives the trio a chance to work out, letting listeners know that all involved are serious about forging their own way. Bassist Rick Rosato arranged Chico Buarque’s “Paratodos” into something quite adventurous, and among the originals, “Fairytale,” with its four-note theme, is arranged in 13/8 time. All of this might serve as a bridge from today to the past, but still leaves listeners wondering about the future.

On Sale Now
August 2024
72nd Annual Critics Poll
Look Inside
Print | Digital | iPad