Trumpet Ship

Thomas Marriott

Origin Records

Trumpeter/composer Thomas Marriott has covered a lot of musical ground over his 11 Origin releases, most recently with the lush balladry of Romance Language, his 2019 recording that featured vibist Joe Locke, and arrangements by Ryan Cohan. For Trumpet Ship, Marriott goes for the exuberant, highly intuitive, propelling joy that defines a jam session. Here, that session includes three of the more electric and empathetic players in jazz - pianist Orrin Evans, bassist Luques Curtis and drummer Mark Whitfield Jr. - all long time collaborators with Marriott.

Ever since they met at a jazz festival 10 years ago, Marriott and Evans have welcomed each other into their respective communities. Marriott plays often in Philly with Evans’ large group, Captain Black, and has played at Dizzy’s and Small’s in New York with him as well. Evans, for his part, has become a familiar figure in Seattle, with appearances at the Earshot and Ballard jazz festivals and at the jazz club, Tula’s. This album came about, in fact, when Evans was playing a 2016 trio gig at Tula’s that Marriott had set up. “They had a day off and Orrin was like, ‘Hey, we should make a record!’ I booked the studio and we made the album in the three hours,” says Marriott. “We were all in the same room – very old school, where you get that nice, groovy sound of the drums. As soon as I heard it I thought, ‘This would be great on vinyl!’”

Through a set of five Marriott originals along with a take on Jerome Kern’s “All the Things You Are,” Gil Evans’ “General Assembly,” and the Sonny Simmons title tune, the quartet’s spirit and chemistry shine. Vivid is the magic that comes from talented, trusting friends and first takes.

Available on CD and Vinyl from

1. All The Things You Are
2. General Assembly
3. Behind The Beard
4. Trumpet Ship
5. 148 Lexington
6. Funny Uncle
7. Reversal Of Fortune
8. Song For Samuel

All music by Thomas Marriott, except (1) Jerome Kern, (2) Miles Davis, Gil Evans, Wayne Shorter, (4) Sonny Simmons

Thomas Marriott – trumpet
Orrin Evans – piano
Luques Curtis – bass
Mark Whitfield Jr. – drums