Premiere: Charnett Moffett’s ‘Rejoice’


Charnett Moffett

(Photo: Courtesy of Motéma)

Charnett Moffett’s silky bass lines come to the fore on his tune “Rejoice” from his new album, New Love. Check out the song’s premiere in the video link below.

“When you’re using the bass as a lead instrument — as a voice, to create melodies — and you have more space, the sound of the instrument can resonate more and be heard in a more complete way for its ‘new’ position,” Moffet said.

New Love features a pared-down crew of Jana Herzen on guitar and vocals, Corey Garcia and Malick Koly on drums and Irwin Hall on saxophones and flute. Moffett aimed to catch the spontaneous nature of jazz for the project by having band members learn the material at the recording sessions, with no prior rehearsals.

“He taught us the parts at the session,” Herzen said of Moffett. “Everything you hear becomes part of a high-level conversation.” DB

  • Lee_Morgan_by_Joel_Franklin.jpeg

    Lee Morgan (1938–’72)

  • DB21_08_Carla_Bley_by_Mark_Sheldon.jpg

    Carla Bley, the critics’ choice for the DownBeat Hall of Fame

  • 21_John_Pizzarelli_-_Photo_3_-_by_Jessica_Molaskey.jpg

    John Pizzarelli hit the woodshed, literally, to develop material for his new recording Better Days Ahead: Solo Guitar Takes On Pat Metheny.

  • DB21_07_Evans_BehindTheDikes_Revised_Cover_Lo_Res.jpg

    New, impactful live recordings of the late pianist Bill Evans continue to emerge on vinyl.

  • 21_Rhiannon_Giddens_Francesco_Turrisi.jpg

    Rhiannon Giddens and Francesco Turrisi