Premiere: Hear John Raymond Get Nostalgic on ‘Where We Grew Up’


Bandleader John Raymond is set for a short run of dates beginning Oct. 1 in Detroit.

(Photo: Matthew Johnson)

​Flugelhornist John Raymond knows not to overwhelm folks with a flurry of notes—or a flurry of recordings.

During the past several years, the assistant professor at Indiana University’s Jacobs School of Music has issued a steady stream of bucolically tinged, deeply personal recordings with his Real Feels ensemble. It’s a band with a ruthlessly unique make-up and an equally distinctive sound.

“Where We Grew Up,” a tune being released ahead of Raymond’s upcoming live dates, is perhaps his most pastoral effort, something that solders together Bill Frisell’s sonic ideal with the hint of a Milsean tone. But Raymond’s band—which includes Gilad Hekselman on electric guitar, Jesse Lewis on acoustic guitar and Ben Lester on pedal steel—dashes the proceedings with the character of a 21st-century troupe steeped in as much contemporary music as in the history of jazz.

“I wrote the song years ago, thinking nostalgically about the people, places and things that were a part of my formative ‘coming of age’ years,” Raymond said in a recent email. “For me, these were spent in Eau Claire, [Wisconsin], which is now a booming arts city ... and home of the band Bon Iver, among others.”

Live dates are below. But for additional information about Raymond, visit the bandleader’s website. DB

Oct. 1: Cliff Bell’s, Detroit
Oct. 2: Bop Stop, Cleveland
Oct. 3: An Die Musik, Baltimore
Oct. 4: Nublu, New York, NY

  • Herb_Alpert_-_Press_Photo_01_%28credit_Dewey_Nicks%29_copy.jpg

    “I like to just click on songs that touched me and see if I could do them in a personal way — especially if it’s a well-known song,” Alpert said about selecting material for his new album.

  • Les_McCann_by_C_Andrew_Hovan_copy.jpg

    McCann’s deep roots in gospel and the blues gave his music a gritty, earthy quality and a large supply of soulful licks.

  • 1_Black_Men_of_Labor_Second_Line_Parade_copy.jpg

    The Black Men of Labor Club leads a second line parade, from the documentary City of a Million Dreams.

  • image002_copy.jpg

    ​The Blue Note Quintet includes Gerald Clayton, Immanuel Wilkins, Joel Ross, Kendrick Scott and Matt Brewer. The all-star collective embarks on a North American tour this month.

  • 24_Emmet_Cohen_GABRIELAGABRIELAA_copy_2.JPG

    Emmet Cohen, right, with one of his heroes, Houston Person.