Ren&eacute Marie Debuts Soulful Title Track from Forthcoming Album


René Marie will release Sound Of Red on Motéma Music on May 13.

(Photo: Photo: John Abbott)

Vocalist René Marie, a Grammy-nominated jazz vocalist with a style firmly rooted in the blues, will add another album to her acclaimed discography. Motéma Music will release Sound Of Red on May 13.

The album, Marie’s first full program of original songs, will explore a range of styles and genres.

“The ‘Sound of Red’ attempts to cover the spectrum of human emotion,” said Marie, who also served as co-producer for all 11 of the album’s tracks.

Sound Of Red will be Marie’s fourth album for Motéma, having debuted on the label in 2011 with The Voice Of My Beautiful Country. She is joined on the project by musical guests that include saxophonist Sherman Irby, trumpeter Etienne Charles and guitarist Romero Lubambo.

The singer’s previous album—I Wanna Be Evil (Motéma), a tribute to actress, singer and activist Eartha Kitt—received a 4-star review in the January 2014 issue of DownBeat.

Below, DownBeat presents an exclusive album preview of the title track for Sound Of Red:

  • Casey_B_2011-115-Edit.jpg

    Benjamin possessed a fluid, round sound on the alto saxophone, and he was often most recognizable by the layers of electronic effects that he put onto the instrument.

  • Charles_Mcpherson_by_Antonio_Porcar_Cano_copy.jpg

    “He’s constructing intelligent musical sentences that connect seamlessly, which is the most important part of linear playing,” Charles McPherson said of alto saxophonist Sonny Red.

  • Albert_Tootie_Heath_2014_copy.jpg

    ​Albert “Tootie” Heath (1935–2024) followed in the tradition of drummer Kenny Clarke, his idol.

  • Geri_Allen__Kurt_Rosenwinkel_8x12_9-21-23_%C2%A9Michael_Jackson_copy.jpg

    “Both of us are quite grounded in the craft, the tradition and the harmonic sense,” Rosenwinkel said of his experience playing with Allen. “Yet I felt we shared something mystical as well.”

  • Larry_Goldings_NERPORT_2023_sussman_DSC_6464_copy_2.jpg

    Larry Goldings’ versatility keeps him in high demand as a leader, collaborator and sideman.

On Sale Now
May 2024
Stefon Harris
Look Inside
Print | Digital | iPad