Guitarist Ruben Machtelinckx formed the Aspen Edities imprint in 2017 alongside euphonium player Niels Van Heertum and writer Sanne Huysmans

(Photo: Mark Rietveld)

The Gentle Sonic Interactions Of Ruben Machtelinckx

Last winter, at the Brand Festival in the quaint Belgian city of Mechelen, guitarist and improviser Ruben Machtelinckx and three close collaborators performed in near darkness,…

Where To Study Jazz 2021

What To Stream This Week

The Sheer Force Of Artemis

Harold López-Nussa

Te Lo Dije
(Mack Avenue)

Cecilie Strange

Black Art Jazz Collective

Rez Abbasi

Conrad Herwig

The Latin Side Of Horace Silver

Jacám Manricks
(Manricks Music)

Tomoko Omura
Branches Vol. 1
(Outside In)

TEST And Roy Campbell
TEST And Roy Campbell


Count Basie (1904–1984)

(Photo: DownBeat Archives)

Three In The Afternoon: Basie, Ferguson, Teagarden

The following discussion took place on a Sunday afternoon in Count Basie’s dressing room during the recent Jazz Supports the Symphony concert at Chicago’s Civic Opera House.

The conversation began while Basie and his band were on stage, and Jack Teagarden (who also was featured at the concert), Maynard Ferguson (whose band was playing in Chicago that night), and members of the DownBeat staff waited for the bandleader.

After much good-natured bantering, the conversation turned to the problems brass players have with their teeth.


On Sale Now
October 2020
The Quest For Equity Now
Look Inside
Print | Digital | iPad

Special Sections