Norah Jones Teams with Jazz Icons for Day Breaks


Blue Note will release Norah Jones’ new album, Day Breaks, on Oct. 7.

(Photo: Courtesy of Blue Note)

Singer-songwriter Norah Jones focuses once again on the piano for her new album Day Breaks, which features contributions from saxophonist Wayne Shorter, organist Dr. Lonnie Smith and drummer Brian Blade, all of whom are her label mates on Blue Note. The label will release the album on Oct. 7.

The album’s first single, “Carry On,” features Jones’ vocals and piano work. The track might remind some fans of the sound Jones crafted on Come Away With Me (Blue Note), the 2002 album that made her a global superstar.

The 12 tracks on Day Breaks include nine original compositions plus interpretations of Horace Silver’s “Peace,” which the late pianist included on his 1959 LP Blowin’ The Blues Away; Duke Ellington’s “Fleurette Africaine (African Flower),” which he recorded with bassist Charles Mingus and drummer Max Roach on the classic 1963 LP Money Jungle; and “Don’t Be Denied,” a Neil Young composition that Jones has played in concert and that Young included on his 1973 live album Time Fades Away.

“This new album feels full circle because I’m going back to my early influences,” Jones said. “After the first record, I drifted away from the piano a little bit. I still played it, but was more inspired to write on guitar. I really loved playing piano on this record.”

A 180-gram orange vinyl version of Day Breaks will be available from Barnes & Noble, and a deluxe CD version featuring four live bonus tracks will be available from Target.

Earlier this year, Jones became one of the few artists to play both the Newport Jazz Festival and the Newport Folk Festival. Those bookings reflect her broad appeal to fans of many genres.

Jones has announced tour dates in North America and Europe that include shows at the Greek Theatre in Los Angeles (Oct. 25), the Paramount Theatre in Oakland (Oct. 28), the Palladium in London (Nov. 14), the venue Salle Pleyel in Paris (Nov. 15), the Beacon Theatre in New York (Nov. 29) and the Orpheum Theatre in Boston (Dec. 10).

Jones has sold more than 45 million albums worldwide, and her many accolades include nine Grammy awards. Her previous leader albums include Feels Like Home (2004), Not Too Late (2007), The Fall (2009) and Little Broken Hearts (2012). Her discography also includes releases with her collective bands The Little Willies and Puss N Boots.

To see the music video for “Carry On,” click here.

  • Charnett_Moffett_Mark_Sheldon.jpg

    Charnett Moffett

  • 21_Randy_brecker_lo_res.jpg

    “Don Cherry had his own original thing going on ... and you can’t duplicate it,” Randy Brecker says.

  • DB22_04_P013_014_Keith_Jarrett_Facing_You.jpg

    “​Keith’s thing was startling,” pianist Craig Taborn says of Facing You.

  • 2022_Ron_Carter.jpg

    Bassist-composer Ron Carter turns 85 on May 4.

  • DB2022_Abdullah_Ibrahim_by_Michael_Jackson.jpg

    “I have no concept of what I did before! That’s irrelevant,” Ibrahim said. “I can’t change anything. I can’t change the past, I can’t change the future, I can only deal with what is now.”